Header image for Auctioneers' Association of Alberta
Hello Guest Login

Media Release - Post 2017 Convention

Media Release

The Auctioneers Association of Alberta held its’83rd Annual Convention at the Black Knight Inn in Red Deer, AB on January 26,27 & 28, 2017.  There were approximately 125 people in attendance.

John Arnold was re-elected President. John is from Lethbridge. Re-elected as Vice President was Dale Menzak of Vegreville.  Darrell Domes and Wade Michener both from Calgary were re-elected to the Board of Directors for a 3-year term. Justin Mayer from Drayton Valley, is a newly elected director. Returning directors are Tyler Ruttan from Sexsmith, Andrew Reeleder from Bentley, John Arnold from Lethbridge, Dale Menzak from Vegreville, Pete Conway from Innisfree, Dave Johnson from Sylvan Lake, Joe Perlich of Lethbridge, Jeff Van Wert from Tilley and Bill Henke our BC liaison person. Cody Hayes is stepping down from the Board. Lorraine Klepper continues as Secretary-treasurer

We held our seventh annual All Around Canadian Auctioneer Championship. There were 15 auctioneers registered for the competition. The champion was Corey Lawrence from Warburg, Travis Rogers from Westlock placed second, and Bobby Miller from Eckville placed third.

The Vern Scown Memorial Tyro Contest was won by Ryan Konynenbelt, Nobleford, AB. The Tyro Contest is an auction contest for auctioneers who have graduated from an auction school within the last two years.

Darren Issac won the best Business Card. Best web page trophy went to Rod Burnett for his Global College Auctioneering web page.

60-year plaque and pin recipients were Peter Pich and John Charlton. Neither were in attendance. Jeff VanWert accepted for John.

50-year plaque and pin were awarded Frank McInenly and Fred McDiarmid. Fred was in attendance and Frank had family there to accept the award.

40-year plaque and pin recipients were Brent Carey & Grant McNab  Neither were in attendance

25-year plaque and pin recipients were Rod Snopek, Andre Jubinville, Keith Wagner, who were in attendance. Other 25 yr. members recognized were Alvin Miller, Mike Hays, Calvin Herder, Mike Kryzanowski and Doug Levi.

Distinguished Service Award went to Robert Lind of Buck Creek.  Presidents Choice Award was presented by John Arnold to Lorraine Klepper for 30 years of service to the Association as Secretary-treasurer.  Lorraine was awarded a beautiful plaque and a travel certificate.

We have changed our Charity we are now selling pictures for the Stollery in Edmonton and the Children's Hospital in Calgary.

Another new and exciting project is the Scholarship program.  The association will be awarding two $500.Scholarships a year.

Next years Convention will be held in Leduc.

For more information call 403-340-2070.

Upcoming Auctions

Crime Stoppers

Footer image for Auctioneers' Association of Alberta